Kawazu Nanadaru: The Seven Falls of Kawazu | Japan Highlights Travel, for sightseeing around Tokaido

Atami Station 

[Kawazu Nanadaru: The Seven Falls of Kawazu]

Take a stroll and admire seven romantic waterfalls

Kawazu Nanadaru is the collective name for the seven waterfalls in Kawazu Town, which are famous for featuring in Yasunari Kawabata's novel Izu no Odoriko (called The Izu Dancer or The Dancing Girl of Izu in English). Calling waterfalls "taru" rather than "taki" is a custom peculiar to Kawazu. The unique pronunciation is said to come from the word "tarumi", which means "water falling". Heading downstream from the upper Kawazu River, the seven falls are Kama-daru Falls, Ebi-daru Falls, Hebi-daru Falls, Shokei-daru Falls, Kani-daru Falls, Deai-daru Falls, and Oo-daru Falls. A roughly 850-meter-long walking trail has been created in the surrounding area. At Shokei-daru Falls, there is a bronze statue titled Odoriko to Watashi (The Dancer and Me) which looks like it came straight out of a scene in the novel. The place is a popular photo spot. Enjoy seven falls and a valley that are beautiful in every season.
Posted photos Main 
The statue Odoriko to Watashi and Shokei-daru Falls bring to life the romantic atmosphere of Yasunari Kawabata's novel Izu no Odoriko.
Upper left: At about 30 meters tall, Oo-daru Falls is the tallest of the Kawazu Nanadaru. Upper right: Along the walking trail, there is also a suspension bridge where you can thoroughly enjoy a good nature stroll. Bottom: From an observation deck at Kama-daru Falls, you can marvel at the spectacular sight of water plummeting down some 22 meters.
Address Nashimoto, Kawazu Town, Kamo County, Shizuoka
Phone Kawazu Tourist Association
+81-558-32-0290 (English available)
Access From "Atami Station" of JR Tokaido Shinkansen, take the through train that starts as the JR Ito Line Limited Express and continues onto the Izukyuko Line for approx. 60 to 75 minutes, and alight at "Kawazu Station". Take the Tokai Bus bound for Kawazu Nanadaru / Shuzenji for approx. 25 minutes, and alight at "Kawazu Nanadaru".
Take the Izu Hakone Railway from "Mishima Station" of JR Tokaido Shinkansen for approx. 35 minutes, and alight at "Shuzenji Station". Take the Tokai Bus bound for Kawazu Station for approx. 63 minutes, and alight at "Kawazu Nanadaru".
URL Kawazu Tourist Association
Kawazu Nanadaru Tourism Association

updated on Sep 30, 2019

[wide area map]

Page Top